the truth revealed

8 Aug

Dearest Readers and Fannes Worldwide,

I would like to address a topic today that just might prove to be controversial. I’m not afraid of conflict, though, and I’m not afraid of Kevin Sullivan and his tricks (Kev, if you’re reading, I’m sure you’re a peach of a person – all the Canadians that I’ve met are. Sadly, though, I have a bone to pick…)

You see, the film entitled Anne of Avonlea (or in later versions I believe it’s Anne of Green Gables: the Sequel) claims to be based on three books: Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island and Anne of Windy Poplars. If one is wondering how you could possibly cram all those books into one (albeit very long) film, one might be named ME. If one is also wondering about accuracy issues and how close to the real Anne story we’re getting, I’m here to set the record straight. I can’t be silent any longer. Here are just a few of the discrepancies that I’ve identified (most coming from Windy Poplars since that was my most recent read). Feel free to chime in with more in the comment section!

*

Movie: Emaline Harris

Book: Little Elizabeth

*

Movie: Morgan Harris

Book: GIL THE ONE AND ONLY! Although some may say that Morgan Harris represents a Roy Gardner figure in Anne’s life. Both propose, both are given the turn-of-the-century boot… Yet each happen along at very different times in Anne’s life and I’m hesitant to even liken the two. Thoughts?

*

Movie: Mrs. Harris is our crabby old friend, as well as Pauline’s mother and Emaline’s grandmother.

Book: Mrs. Adoniram Gibson is the thorn in her daughter, Pauline’s, side. She is not Little Elizabeth’s grandmother, though. That honor is left to an entirely different crabby old lady.

*

Book: Rebecca Dew

Movie: Rebecca Who?

*

Movie: Anne works as an English Teacher at Kingsport Ladies’ College

Book: Our heroine is nothing less than Principal at Summerside High School

*

Movie: Emaline Harris plays Mary Queen of Scots at the last minute.

Book: Sophy Sinclair shines in the spotlight!

*

Movie: Katherine Brooke goes home with Anne for the summer where she learns to style her hair in the latest island pouf.

Book: Katherine Brooke spends Christmas at Green Gables where Anne makes all her wishes come true by gifting her a delicious puppy.

*

Book:  Tears ain’t lucky at weddings. – Aunt Mouser (Windy Poplars, ch. 16)

Movie: Aunt Josephine Barry makes a similar (but more grammatically correct) observation just moments prior to Diana’s wedding to Roly Poly Fred Wright.

*

Book: Wouldn’t it be wonderful to be the bride of heaven? – Hazel Marr (Windy Poplars, ch. 10)

Movie: Anne makes this statement to Diana after some pre-wedding frolicking in their elegant undergarments.

*

Now I have to admit, as I turned on the film recently to do my extensive research for this post, my heart started pitter-pattering wildly with just a few bars of that opening song… the cameras panned the gorgeous Prince Edward Island sand dunes… the memories of a certain vacation

oops

I got distracted there for a moment.

As much as I want to detest it, I do enjoy this film and will continue to watch it when the mood is right. I love the books more, though, and they’ll always be my first love.

Also, if Jonathan Crombie’s on board I tend to be in favor.

I must finally state – as if it hasn’t been reiterated enough on this humble blog – that The Anne Girls in no way, shape or form condone or encourage the viewing of Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story. That is a completely different ball of wax that does not deserve to carry the fine name of Anne.

We’re serious about Anne around here.

Thank you for bearing with me, dear kindred spirits. May your sleeves be puffed and your cordial the raspberriest.

Sincerely,

Big Sis

2 Responses to “the truth revealed”

  1. pioneerprincess August 22, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    This is such a freaking great entry!!!

    * nothing less than Principal — REALLY? Okay I have only read the first book. I have watched the movies about 100 times. I am instantly poignantly aware that OF COURSE Anne should be principal. She’s AMAZING. Even the one in the movie.

    * latest island pouf — love that recap. LOL Well done!!

    * The Continuing Story — Hee hee, I feel the exact same way and I haven’t even watched it all the way through. I am dismayed at pretty much everything else I have ever seen Megan Follows in, as a side note.

  2. Gramma's Corner September 16, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    As a seriously devoted Anne Fan and book reader, I very seldom like the movies made after the books. I didn’t like the first Anne movie, and I REALLY didn’t like the second one. Talk about taking the ideas from the books and making a mash of them!! I like the idea of this blog and I think I need to spend a little more time enjoying it.

Leave a comment